MEMORIES

Posted: October 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

A TRIP TO LOUISIANA TO SEE MY FATHER’S MOTHER FOR THE FIRST AND LAST TIME. MY FIRST LONG TRIP: TRAVELING IN A FOUR DOOR 1936 CHEVY. MY DAD ALWAYS OWNED CHEVYS WHEN I WAS A BOY. READING BURMA SHAVE SIGNS AS WE TRAVELED THROUGH ILLINOIS,ARKANSAS, TENNESSEE AND MISSISSIPPI. M-IS  S-I-S  S-I-P-P-I . A JINGLE MY BROTHER AND I SANG AS OUR 36 DROVE DOWN THAT NEVER ENDING TWO LANE HIGHWAY. MOVIN A DOWN THAT HIGHWAY. THROUGH FLOODED ROADS,WINDING  THROUGH SMALL SOUTHERN TOWNS. HEADEN FOR LOOSEANNA. written by  John Dyess sometime in the 1970’s

 

Grandmother Dyess in Louisiana 1947

 

Comments
  1. Mark Dyess says:

    I’m curious who that lady is in the background by the car. Is that your mom? (Grandma Dyess)

  2. johndyess says:

    That lady is indeed your grandmother,Adele Dyess. The year ,I think, was 1947.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

