ILLUSTRATIONS

Posted: October 27, 2010 in African,American, art,John_Dyess, slavery
Tags: , , ,

Cover illustration for To Be Free

Below is the process I used to create the cover illustration for the paperback story called “To Be Free”.

First sketch for cover

Client Sketch

Photo reference for final drawing that is shown to the client

Before I began the finished pencil drawing I hired a model and took reference photos. I also gathered other photo reference for the background . I compare this process with making a movie,an actor is hired, a set is designed and the director makes a movie. I’m kind of a director as I compose an illustration.

Finished pencil drawing to show the client for approval.

After the pencil drawing is approved I create the finished color illustration.

Leave a Reply

