PEN AND INK DRAWINGS

Posted: November 13, 2010 in illustrations by John Dyess, Mark Twain
Tags: , ,

Tom, Huck and Joe

When I was about eleven years old I was given the book “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer”  by ,I believe, my Aunt Ollie and Uncle Foster. It was the first book in my collection. I have fond memories of reading this book and can still remember the way it smelled from the ink and paper it was printed on. I grew up in Affton Missouri just a few miles west of the Mississippi River and about a hundred miles south from Hannibal,Missouri.

Many years after I received this book I had the opportunity to illustrate several chapters from “Tom Sawyer” that was printed in a textbook. I have included on this page two versions of a scene from the chapter titled “The Pirate Crew  Set Sail”,that I illustrated and a copy of a similar illustration from the book I was given.

Huck Finn,Tom Sawyer and Joe Harper

The Pirate Crew set Sail

Comments
  1. Rochelle says:

    The right way to help you Lose Weight – 9 Tips you must understand.
    5x the calories from fat that walking does. Because of the missing
    intake of food during the night, the scientists explain, the glycogen level is very
    low. If you wish, you can take your friends or relatives along with you to
    have a good company while jogging. Running hill repeats is very productive workout as it allows
    you to run up a hill rapidly even though definitely pushing your self, then recover when you’re walking or jogging back towards the bottom.

  2. Erika says:

    Vitamin E is very high in Antioxidants which will protect your body from
    harmful free radicals ad protect any cell damage that may occur.
    Vitamin K – This vitamin is mainly known for its use in the normal
    coagulation of blood, but it also acts to
    improve your skin. When lemon juice residues are
    on your skin, your dermis can easily burn under the sun.

  3. Neva says:

    It only take a minute to check out the new & free
    videos to help you quit smoking today. I discovered–this last time when I was determined to quit–that I needed to change my thinking
    in order to change my behavior (smoking). Positive reinforcement
    gives them the encouragement they need to keep going and not disappoint you, because they will want to hear
    more encouragement and it makes them feel good about themselves.

Leave a Reply

