Wisconsin's Mighty Muskies

This was the first or second illustration I created for Field and Stream magazine, which was printed in June of 1979. It was in a section called “Your Local Outdoors” that was a regional insert in FS magazines printed in twelve midwest states. It was printed on newsprint. It was printed in two color,one color was black the other a green. This illustration was drawn in black ink on paper with a black  ink wash. The second color was on a separate layer and was rendered in grey markers. This was created BC (before computers).

I was represented by a New York illustration agency called Mulvey and Associates. The sales rep was Charlie Gardner. He was responsible for introducing me to Field and Stream. I had a long business relationship with him. More about how I found an agent in New York City in 1977 in a future post. This was the beginning of my creating hunting and fishing illustrations for most of the major outdoor sports magazines.

Comments
  1. Debby Dyess says:

    Anyone who loves muskies should visit the National Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame in Hayward, Wisconsin. The shell of the museum is a giant muskie; people can stand in the mouth of the fish which is approx. four stories high.

  2. johndyess says:

    I was not aware of this.

  3. I have this illustration in my files of good fish art!
    I really enjoy the line quality and how it expresses theabove and below action!

Leave a Reply

