Pen and Ink drawing "Man with Dogs" by John Dyess

Thanks to Michael Halbert for sharing his history as an illustrator on this weeks blog posts. Continuing the theme of pen and ink I have posted one my pen and ink drawings. I began this example with a tight pencil sketch from photo reference I had taken. The pencil sketch is about 20″ high by 18″ wide done on tracing paper. I laid prepared clear acetate over the pencil drawing and rendered the drawing in ink with a 000 Rapidograph technical pen. After the large line drawing was finished I made a smaller photocopy about 11″ x 17″ and added tone using a toothbrush dipped in ink and flicked the bristles with my fingers to create a dot like texture.Below are details of this drawing.

Two dogs

Dog head

The final illustration was in color and was rendered with transparent acrylic ink over a black and white copy of this drawing.

Leave a Reply

