CREATING A NEW PAINTING – Step by Step Process

Posted: February 3, 2011 in art,John_Dyess, Photographs by John Dyess, Urban Life
Tags: , ,

Beautiful Ladies

In May of 2010 Carolyn and I had a booth at the Surtex licensing show in New York City. I took my Nikon COOLPIX camera and took photos of scenes in New York City. I used my camera in a point and shoot mode, just pointing it at things and shooting without any planning or even composing. When I got back to my studio I began to compose and create with  the photos on the computer. This photo was taken inside of a bus while returning to our hotel after the first day of the show. I like the view of the inside of the bus and the scene outside of the bus in the same shot. I really like the signs,colors and architecture included in this photo.This is the cropped version of the photo. I have lightened areas and darkened some areas using photoshop. This is step one of the creation of a painting using elements of this photo. The next week I will be showing a step by step process of creating this painting. I will add to the process daily. I don’t have any idea were this is going. Below is the photo as shot.

Photo as shot

Leave a Reply

