1950’s – 1956 1957

Posted: February 15, 2011 in Adele Dyess, Family album, history, Photo
Tags: , ,

John and Adele Dyess

I am going to revisit the 1950’s this week. This is me and my mother in 1956. I’m trying to give my best James Dean look. Below are scans from a Fall 1956,Winter 1957, Montgomery Ward Catalog I purchased years ago at a used book sale.

lounger shoes and socks from 1956,1957

These shoes and socks are similar to what I am wearing, I believe the shoes were called Penny loafers. The price of the shoes in the catalog was 11.95 and the socks were $1.32.

Dress in Montgomery Ward catalog

My mother made some of her clothes,I don’t know if the dress she was wearing in the photo  was “store bought.”

Brownie Hawkeye camera

This is the camera that took the picture of me and my mother. The picture on the left  is from the Montgomery Ward catalog and I took a photo of the Brownie Hawkeye camera today.


Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    Much better than my James Dean look which didn’t really arrive until ’62, and then with my black frame glasses I came out looking more like Buddy Holly, go figure. But then you’re older and wiser than me ( and not near-sighted, I trust).

  2. Debby Dyess says:

    I LOVE seeing photos of Grandma!! If you’re looking for a way to wish me a happy 50th birthday in October – I’d love scans of Adele!!

  3. johndyess says:

    Glenn, Contact lens do wonders .

  4. johndyess says:

    Debby, You don’t have to wait for your birthday. I’ll send you scans.
    Uncle John

  5. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest
    but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

