FISHING – Large, Large Mouth Bass

Posted: April 6, 2011 in Largemouth Bass, Largemouth Bass Fish, Largemouth Bass photo
Tags: ,

John Dyess holding Largemouth Bass

Ok,so I caught a very large ,Largemouth Bass, just for full disclosure,it was all luck. I was visiting, with my former wife and children, my Uncle Bill’s farm in Folsom, Louisiana in the early 1970’s. I caught this Bass in my uncle Bill’s pond. I was using a plastic worm on a cheep spin casting reel. While reeling in the plastic worm I thought I had snagged something in the water until this “giant ” fish rose out of the water. I thought I had caught Moby Dick. Anyway, I finally landed this fish, carried the fish up to the house and had this photo taken. My Aunt Belva wanted to cook the fish but I wanted it mounted. I had it mounted by a local Louisiana taxidermist. This fish became a model for many fishing illustrations. I may not be a talented fisherman but I’m pretty good at drawing and painting fish and over the last thirty years I have created fishing illustrations for most of the national outdoor magazines including,Field and Stream,Outdoor Life,North American Fisherman,BASS and Sports Afield. The most recent being illustrations for North American Fisherman in 2006. I will be showing some of these illustration for the next few days.

 

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    Congratulations on the one that DIDN’T get away! Luck so out ways everything else in fishing. What a jolt of excitement when you realize that the “snag” is swimming away! Love ‘fishin’ ! Can’t wait to see the illustrations.

Leave a Reply

