leaping Pike

This is the second of a series of fish leaping out of water. Below is the step by step process of my creation of this illustration.

pencil drawing

This pencil on tracing paper is my first step.

final drawing

This is the final black and white drawing which is on bond paper.

type selection

I select several fonts on my computer and print out on newsprint drawing paper. printing on newsprint begins to distress the words,which Is important to me for this style of illustration.

Pike word

I selected this font from the above sheet and enlarged it on a copy machine to create ragged edges.

definition of Pike

Same process as the word Pikefinal collageThis is the final collage with all the elements pasted on a sheet of bond paper 11″ x 17″ and copied same size on a copy machine. This copy was glued on heavy board and painted with liquid acrylic paint. I prefer to work traditionally instead of digitally with this style.

 

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    Looks like the pike strikes. Great action detail! Coming from your hand that is no real surprise is it?

  2. johndyess says:

    Glenn, I enjoyed working on this illustration. I like drawing and painting interesting,some might say, ugly creatures, like bats, condors,bugs and snakes.

Leave a Reply

