illustration of Ayn Rand by John Dyess

detail from illustration of Ayn Rand

I created this illustration of Ayn Rand as part of a series of illustrations of  authors I have created for the past ten years.I haven’t displayed it recently and thought that  this would be a good time to show it on my blog because the movie version of  Atlas Shrugged began showing in theaters April 15.

When I was in my twenties I was impressed by Ayn Rand’s book “The Fountainhead” and watched the movie version on television several times. Since then I have matured and I am not as impressed by the writing of Ayn Rand as I was in my youth. I recently read part of “Atlas Shrugged” and finished the book on a recording. It was interesting reading but I don’t agree with the philosophy of Ayn Rand. I don’t believe that government is always bad and corporations are always good. I think they both are necessary. I don’t think there are just a few brilliant people that run the world or that the majority of the people are mediocre and dregs of society. I have been self employed since 1980.

I will go see the movie version.

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    Amen! Both to the quality of the illustration/design and to your “matured” take on another’s philosophy. Youth should never be mistrusted but it certainly shouldn’t be trusted either. Time doth clarify focus, if we remain searching.

  2. jim trotter says:

    hi john,
    i saw the movie.
    i think Ian Rand is warning us about BIG government.
    she saw what happened to the people in Russia.
    are we headed toward a similar fate ?
    jim trotter

  3. johndyess says:

    Glenn
    Thanks for the comment

  4. johndyess says:

    Jim
    Thanks for the comment and no I don’t think we are headed toward a similar fate. We vote for our leaders. The people of the Soviet Union didn’t have a choice.

Leave a Reply

