MEMORIAL DAY – Dyess and Kestler family

Posted: May 27, 2011 in 1957 Chevrolet illustration, Civil War, Louisiana, Lt. Col. William Edwin Dyess, War, World War Two
Tags: , , , ,

1940 -1945

This image is a photo montage of family members,scanned objects and newspaper headlines from the era of World War Two. This is part of one panel of a digital triptych that depicts family members and images from the time period 1904 until 2004.The soldier is my uncle Emil Kestler who was a truck driver serving under General George Patton in Europe during World War Two. Below are names of those who served with the last name of Dyess or Kestler.

Henry Dyess -born by 1760. Revolutionary War Soldier.Lived in Barnwell County ,South Carolina,before 1790 and moved to Liberty County Georgia.

John Dyess – born by 1760. Revolutionary War Soldier. Lived in Tutnell Georgia.

William Dyess- Revolutionary War Soldier

George Dyess – Private Eighth Mississippi Regiment,Company D of Clark County

John H. Dyess –  Pvt. Killed at Franklin, younger brother of George Dyess

Lt. Col. William Edwin Dyess was a POW on the ” Bataan Death march”, he was one of the few that escaped. he died in 1943 in Burbank ,CA. when his aircraft malfunctioned. He guided his plane to an unpopulated area and was killed in the crash.Dyess AFB was renamed in his honor.

Lt. Col. Aquilla James Dyess USMC was awarded the Congressional Metal of Honor. He was killed in action while directing tank fire on the Kwajalein Atoll.The USS Dyess was named in his honor.

I haven’t done an extensive search of the Dyess name.I believe my Great Grandfather was William C. (Billy ) Dyess.He was maried to Martha A. Crocker. My Grandfather was Rasmus Theodore (R.T. ) Dyess and was born in 1853. He was married to Virginia Wilkins. My father Ezeakiel Bavington Dyess was born August 14, 1910 in Covington, Louisiana. I welcome additional information about the Dyess family tree.

Additional relatives that served in the military in my next post.

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    It’s obvious that your roots are deep in this country’s history. A Congressional Medal of Honor in your family is a big thing.

    • johndyess says:

      Glenn, My service record isn’t up to some of my distant relatives, but I did serve in the army,fortunately before Vietnam fighting began. I was just getting out in the middle of that conflict. I think I will post about my army career later today.

Leave a Reply

