MEMORIAL DAY- May 30,2011

Posted: May 30, 2011 in art,John_Dyess

Service of our country

My father -in -law received this certificate after he died at the age of 97 several years ago.He was a Captain in the US Air Corps from 1942-1946.He saw no combat and didn’t fly a plane.He did serve his country for four years. I chose to show this certificate because it applies to anyone who has served their country honorably  in the military. Even though I didn’t do a lot to protect my country ,it was an honor for me to serve. I wish no service man or women ever had to fight in a war. I think there is a saying “those also serve who only stand and wait”.

One of my memories as a Boy Scout  is putting American and Confederate flags on the graves of soldiers the weekend before Memorial Day, in Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery which is near St. Louis Missouri.

Memorial Day is to honor those that died while serving their country. I think it can also be about those that served but did not die.

Today I am thinking about all those that have died in wars including our former enemies.

Peace be with you.

American Flag 
Comments
  1. Mary Ann Grande says:

    Beautiful! Thank you for sharing.
    Mary Ann

Leave a Reply

