FAMILY ALBUM – Zeake and Adele

Posted: June 17, 2011 in illustrations by John Dyess, portraits, Time passing

Zeake and Adele Dyess 1932

This image is a collage I created during the 1970’s using photostat copies of photos of my parents.The  photos were taken in 1932 which was the year my parents were “dating”. My father would have been 21 years old and my mother 16. This is the statement on the collage.

Because I know that time is always time

And place is always and only place

And what is actual is actual only for one time

And only for one place

T.S. Eliot – Ash Wednesday

I wanted to represent time passing and youth passing by using paint with streaks and scratches.

Leave a Reply

