Where my ideas come from – Page 1 and 2

Posted: June 22, 2011 in illustrations by John Dyess, M.C. Escher, step by step illustration process, thumbnail sketch
Tags: , ,

Page 1 of ideas

In the late 1990’s I began putting idea sketches into three ring binders. These ideas sketches were on post-it paper note pads or any piece of scrap paper I could make marks onto. I would draw with ballpoint pen, number 2 pencil and fine line marker. These ideas could come at any time of the day or night. This is one way I avoid “writers block” or in my case “visual artist block”. I also save magazine and newspaper photos and advertisements images I see that interest me visually. I use these ideas to create illustrations,photographs,drawings or paintings.

page 2 ideas

This page show ideas I had about a 3D construction.

3 ring binders

 

Christmas Tree ornament

This is a scan of a copy machine print of a photo I took based on the thumbnail from page 1 from my idea binder.An inverted reflection of my face is inside the broken ornament. This photo makes me think of the work of M.C. Escher

For those that follow my blog,I will not be showing my step by step process of creating a visual image daily. I will be showing it throughout the next month.

 

 

Leave a Reply

