Where my ideas come from – page 3

Posted: June 23, 2011 in abstract art, mixed medium paintings, Paintings by John Dyess, step by step illustration process
Tags:

scissors a

This image from my idea binders was created by placing a pair of scissors on the glass of a copy machine and making a black and white copy.

scissors b

This image is an inverted copy of the previous scissor copy.

Cutting Edge

I laid the second copy on a wood board that had an irregular surface and began sanding the black background of the copy to add texture. After I was finished sanding I glued the paper copy to illustration board and hand colored the copy with liquid acrylic paint. Size of the final art is 11″high x 17″ wide.

This is another example of created a painting from an idea I had saved in my binders.

 

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    A fun inventive “still hands on” approach to making an image. I like the idea of using the rough texture of wood to act as a sanding template. Cool, as usual for you.

Leave a Reply

