Oil paintings of my grandchildren – Delanie

Posted: July 14, 2011 in oil paintings, Paintings by John Dyess, Portrait of a young girl, portraits
Tags: , , ,

Oil portrait of Delanie Jones by John Dyess

I decided ,about six years ago,that I would paint portraits of my grandchildren and give them their portrait. This  portrait,of my eldest granddaughter Delanie ,was painted about five years ago with oil paint on canvas. I used photographs I took of Delanie as reference for this painting. I also borrowed the dress she was wearing and hung it next to my easel to see the details in the dress.  The painting to me is about the sunlight on her hair.

 

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    The sunlight in the hair,yes, but also her gaze, her hands, her pose, each immaculate detail . . . all exquisite.

    • johndyess says:

      I shot the photos of Delanie outside about six years ago ,knowing I wanted to create a painting using these reference photos,but it took about two more years before I began the painting. When I revisited the the photos,which were slides, I selected the pose used in the painting because of the light. I actually used two reference photos for the painting, one for the upper body and one for the arms and hands.Thanks for stopping by Glenn.

  2. katherine kinnamon says:

    I have seen this portrait before, John. But it again caught me off guard with its beauty. Thanks for sharing. Hope you and Carolyn are having a good summer (pant, gasp!) kkinnamon

    • johndyess says:

      We are having a good summer, our grand daughter Sophia had her first birthday party with our family and Nick’s family last weekend,you may have seen her photo on a blog post last week.Thank’s for stopping by Katherine.

  3. Katleenj says:

    lovely painting!

Leave a Reply

