Secret of the Andes – illustration by John Dyess

Posted: September 4, 2011 in Ann Nolan Clark, Inca, Mountains, Secret of the Andes, watercolor
Tags: , , , ,

Illustration for Secret of the Andes by John Dyess

This illustration is from the 1980s when I was creating illustrations for a variety of text book publishers. This was from a story called Secret of the Andes by Ann Nolan Clark and was about a journey of discovery by a young boy named Cusi. My budget to hire models was slim for this illustration plus two other illustrations in this story so I had to use family members. The young boy is my daughter Audrey and the Inca herder is my wife Carolyn. No my wife  doesn’t look like an old herder. I didn’t get the illustration back from the publisher and received ,I believe, one tear sheet from the publisher. This is a color scan of the tear sheet.

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    Carolyn does make an amazing Nefertiti though.

Leave a Reply

