Michael M. Smit – graphic designer

Posted: September 28, 2011 in art,John_Dyess
Tags: , , , , ,

Business card of Michael M. Smit Associates

Michael M. Smit died Friday ,September 23,2011. Mike was a valued client and friend and  had fun illustration assignments  that I worked on with him. He was a pilot, race car driver and loved Vizsla dogs. I googled his name and got 0 results ,which is a shame because he was a great graphic designer. Below is a thumbnail sketch for a project we worked on that he signed as joke. I have kept it for many years.

signed thumbnail sketch by Michael M. Smit

The folowing are assignments I worked on with Mike. Some were posters and some were client brochures and they were all fun to work on. Mike created the theme logos for some of his clients and selected the art and type fonts.Mike was also the concept artist for these projects. Graphic designers are the glue that hold visual projects together.

client, St.Louis University, designer Michael M. Smit and illustrator of Gateway Arch is John Dyess

client, personal Performance Consultants,Michael M. Smit was the graphic designer and John Dyess was the illustrator. Year published was 1986

client,inter Access,graphic designer was Michael M. Smit and illustrator was John Dyess

client,inter Access,graphic designer was Michael M. Smit and illustrator was John Dyess

art for client information binder,graphic designer Michael M. Smit,illustrator John Dyess

Mikes’ interment was 11:30 a.m. today at Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery.

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    One of the best things about freelancing is the vast array of interesting and talented people we get to work with and get to know as friends. I now work with people that I may never meet in person, but it is still good to get to know them through emails and phone calls. But, it is not the same.

    • johndyess says:

      Glenn,Did you do any work with Mike? I’ve done a lot of out of town work for the last 30 years and I agree that it’s nice to sometimes talk to the client in person.

  2. Debby Dyess says:

    I’m sorry for the loss of your friend and colleague. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Michael.

    • johndyess says:

      Thanks Debby. Because of the changes in the art market I haven’t done work with him since the 1990’s. He was a good designer and I was surprised that when I Googled his name nothing came up. I guess he wasn’t on Facebook. Maybe my post will place his name on the web.

  3. Michael M. Smit says:

    Mike was my Dad. I enjoyed reading your post very much. At his funeral I was very proud to hear so many great stories about him and meet the people I have heard him talk about for years. We have a lot of the awards and gold medals he earned from his work, but to me, hearing about his talent and sense of humor that impacted so many is his best legacy. Thanks again for sharing.

    • johndyess says:

      Mike,
      I met your dad when I began working at Maritz in 1969 and after we both left Maritz in the 1980’s to start “freelancing” he became a valued client and friend. He always said kind words about my art. Thanks for contacting me about this post.

Leave a Reply

