Recently I was scanning family photos, from albums I took possession of , after my mother died in the early 1990’s and saw the photo below of a cousin . This photo was taken on the farm in Louisiana that belonged to his grandmother,who was an older sister of my father. Something in this photo spoke to me after I scanned it, so I decided to post it in my Journal of Seeing.  I see in this photo a universal scene from a period of time and place in the United States. The straw hat he is holding while he is standing in front of my parents car ,which is I believe, a 1936 Chevrolet,the large trees, a wire fence also behind him and the composition of this photo appeals to me as a visual artist.

Keating farm with a cousin holding a straw hat 1949

Leave a Reply

