Video Games – Creativity and visual images

Posted: December 2, 2011 in art,John_Dyess
Tags: , , ,

Recently I have been talking with a student,named Nick,in my illustration class about his interest in the “art” of video games. I recently read an article in the November 14,2011 issue of USA Today,written by Mike Snyder titled “Wanted: Artist who’ve got game.” The first sentence ask the question “Are video games works of art?” To me whether  video games are art doesn’t matter. What I have recently seen on the game “Assassins Creed Revelations” by Ubisoft ( this clip contains violent scenes) is,I think, great illustration and design.

scene from Assassin's Creed Revelations by Ubisoft

Here are a few facts about video games I learned from Snider’s article. 60 billion global sales, with budgets for many games of 40 to 60 million dollars. The growing demand for high caliber talent has led colleges and art schools to increase the course and degree options, for prospective video game artists,which have doubled in the last two years. Early video games will be part of the Smithsonian American Art Museums Art and Video games exhibition in Washington DC. Video game artist are paid on average $71,000 a year, according to Game Developers magazine’s  salary survey.

I don’t play video games,the last video game I played was Pong, when my now grown sons were children.

This is my last Friday post of my series, geared to my illustration students,for this year.

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    Sounds like $71K a year is a very good game these days.

Leave a Reply

