North Carolina Pelican

Today I’m stepping away from my abstract paintings. This black and white drawing is a project I recently started and I will begin adding color tomorrow. This drawing was based on two photographs that I took . The background was taken in North Carolina and the Pelican was photographed at the World Bird Sanctuary which is near St.Louis, Missouri. I don’t know if this Pelican ever lived in North Caolina but I have seen Brown Pelicans while visiting North Carolina.

detail of Pelican drawing

Comments
  1. Sunshine says:

    Wow, beautiful black and white drawing…:)

  2. Glenn Myers says:

    John J. Audubon would be proud of you, and you should be, too! Abstract is fun enough but is it ever mastered (just a question)? But what you are doing in rendering (anything and everything) is definitely done in the hand of a master. Not a question, just an opinion.

    • johndyess says:

      Glenn,
      Iv’e always had a spit creative personality in my approach to my paintings and illustrations.I think the tight drawing and “loose” painting help me to see the beauty in the world. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Geographic Designer says:

    Cool post! North Carolina rocks. In fact, I just designed a poster for North Carolina. Check it out: http://50statesdesignproject.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/42-nothing-but-north-carolina/

Leave a Reply

