Nude painting of a female model – August 16, 2012

Posted: August 23, 2012 in oil painting from a model
Tags: , , , ,

Nude painting in oil on canvas by John Foster Dyess

I attend a painting group on Thursday evening where we paint from a model during a two and one half hour session. Many artist draw with the intent of capturing an “accurate” representation of what they see. I look at the shapes and colors within the model and the environment that surrounds the model. I normally draw with square soft pastels, but a few weeks ago I began painting on canvas with oil paint. After about an hour of painting I decided this painting was boring and with a paper towel wiped over the wet paint in various directions. I like this approach and will paint this week using this technique.
I have been painting from a model with other artists since the late 1970’s. I was absent from live painting for about 12 years and started back about two years ago. Other examples of my paintings from “life” can be found on previous blog posts.
Painting size is 16″ high x 20″ wide using Fredrix medium texture artist canvas from a canvas pad.

detail from nude painting by John Foster Dyess

Leave a Reply

