Sophia and Papa art

Posted: October 4, 2012 in Sophia and Papa drawing
Tags: , , , , ,

Doodle by Sophia

Several weeks ago I created a Friday post for my students at Meramec Junior college titled doodles that was inspired by a doodle I created at a recent church board meeting. I showed my doodle and a drawing by Jack Unruh that ,I thought ,looked like a doodle. last Saturday my wife and I had the pleasure of babysitting our grand daughter Sophia and while with us she created a doodle. I began to think, when do doodles become art, and can a twenty seven month young girl create art? Is it in the eye of the beholder,in this case grandparents? I decided to add to her doodle and create a joint art project with Sophia.

Sophia and Papa painting

Is it art now or was it art before I got involved ? Is art always in the eye of the beholder? Does calling something art really matter?

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Art is an expression of your self. It may be conscious or unconscious and outside “appreciation” has nothing to do with it. When others experience your art, they may feel something stir inside them. That is when shared art becomes what some people term “Art”. So I guess I see art in at least two levels probably more. Therapy, purging, spirituality, gift, release, sharing a thought or idea, a glimpse into how you view the world etc etc etc.
    I’m guessing that the joint project connected Sophia and Papa is a very special and precious way. She may not understand the final product but she did know that you cared about her.

  2. Ginny DeSantis says:

    An artist in the making…takes after grandpa!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Obviously Sophia made the original art and her grandpa made the art known as variation on a theme by Sophia. I watch my four little “Glennardos” do their art thing and stand in awe.

  4. johndyess says:

    I would like to see some of the art from the Glennardos.

Leave a Reply

