New York City Shapes – 2008

Posted: December 3, 2012 in New York City shapes
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Photo by John Foster Dyess 2008

Photo by John Foster Dyess 2008

During a trip to New York City, in 2008, I took photos in the Times Square neighborhood and have been working on them in photoshop for the past four years. I have several versions of this photo. During my walk around Times Square I was “shooting from the hip” ,literally, by holding the camera at my side and not looking through the view finder. When I got back to my studio I began selecting the images that appealed to me and cropped and enhanced the photos selected.I like the  shapes in this image.

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    While you are working around in Photoshop do you try out the artistic filters/palette knife option? Your usual innate design eye offers shapes that would make good fits. I find that certain photo images become natural partners for some of the artistic filters. Also some of the filters are an absolute”bust”, but the ones that work do a great job opening up possibilities if the image fits. As in if the image looks like a painting it will probably work and if it doesn’t, it probably won’t.

    • johndyess says:

      Glenn. I have used the artistic filters but I don’t think I have used palette knife. I wanted this image to be crisp and simple to accent the interesting shapes. Since this was a point and shoot I’m not sure what some of the shapes are part of. That’s why I like ,at times, to be surprised by my photos when I put them on my computer.

Leave a Reply

