Ink drawing of a Clydesdale by John Dyess

Ink drawing of a Clydesdale by John Dyess

My previous blog was about the book “Bitter Brew” by William Knoedelsender , which I read after receiving it, as a gift, from my daughter Audrey, and about an assignment I received to do illustrations for Anheuser-Busch. Today’s blog is about several assignments ,I received from AB, to illustrate Clydesdale horses.
The first is the above ink drawing, that was engraved on metal, and is part of a display in the Clydesdale stables in the Anheuser-Busch brewery complex in St. Louis Missouri.  A handler brought a Clydesdale out of the stable so that I could take reference photographs,for the ink drawing.

engraved metal panels in the Clydesdale stables

engraved metal panel in the Clydesdale stables

photo of a Cldesdale by John Dyess

photo of a Clydesdale by John Dyess

Clydesdale photo by John Dyess

Clydesdale photo by John Dyess

I don’t remember the name of this horse.I wish I had wrote it down. This drawing was created sometime in the 1990’s
The second assignment was an illustration for the 1983 Budweiser Light, Happy Holidays card. I believe it is signed by August Busch the third.

Illustration by John Dyess on the cover of the card.

Illustration by John Dyess on the cover of the card.

inside of Budweiser Light Happy Holiday card

inside of Budweiser Light Happy Holiday card

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    John, a terrific illustration! I think about what I would do on something like this …and you have done it! Very nice!

  2. Debby Dyess says:

    Beautiful!! DDyess

Leave a Reply

