second grade class drawing – step2

Posted: January 14, 2013 in step two of a drawing of my second grade class
Tags: , , , , , , ,
second grade class photo cropped

second grade class photo cropped

This is a cropped section of the photo of my second grade class.I cropped this again to show just three students.I put a semi transparent layer over this section and printed it on my desktop printer.  I have decided to explore ,by drawing,  the detail of this photo,taking my time. It may be like watching grass grow,so I’ll place other images with my step by step drawing to add interest. Step one was on my post for Jan.12,2013.
Here is step 2 of my drawing. I began with a  H Velvet Drawing pencil by Venus.  This kind of drawing I compare to doing a jig saw puzzle; looking for the right shape and putting it with other right shapes.
Several years ago I was looking at historical photos of my mother’s family and began to see a photo of my great grand mother which was taken ,I think,during the 1920’s. Not look at it,but see it, and to begin to enter this photo and become part of that time period. I feel many people who look at digital photos on their computer don’t see what is in the photo,myself included.  I have decided to explore ,by drawing,  the detail of this photo of my second grade class,taking my time,and share  my journey with viewers of my blog.It may be like watching grass grow,so I’ll place other images with my step by step drawing to add interest. Step one was on my post for Jan.12,2013.
Here is step 2 of my drawing. I began with a  H Velvet Drawing pencil by Venus.

three second grade students step 2

three second grade students step 2

detail of three grade school students

detail of three grade school students

I’m drawing shapes ,not a shirt or belt or face. Time spent so far is less than an hour.Below is how I am working.I view the photo on an I-mac that is only good for viewing photos or art. It  started freezing up. Rather than recycle it I decided to place it next to my drawing board to view my reference.

computer next to my drawing board

computer next to my drawing board

 

 

Leave a Reply

