February 26, 2013 a new creation

Posted: February 26, 2013 in a new creation
Tags: , , , , ,
sculpture or painting? by JoDye

sculpture or painting? by JoDye

So,I kept this pressed paper thing that came with, I think, a bathroom faucet,I don’t remember ,but I liked the shapes and put it with other  stuff I thought was visually interesting. I decided last week to paint it with enamel paint and a screwdriver with my Jackson Pollock inspired drip painting. First with white,then black,then violet, then yellow and then with an old round brush the red daubs.I set it aside for a day and thought about what else I could add.I decided to add string I painted, I used  this technique on another painting,and with a needle I wove a yellow string through the paper thing then wove red string through the paper thing. I then painted the string with black spots and red spots and yellow spots. I can’t decide whether this is sculpture or painting,or just found art.

side view of paper thing

side view of paper thing

another view of paper thing

another view of paper thing

 

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    The answer to which of those options this falls into is . . . YES. It is what it is . . . whatever that is, but, in fact, does it really matter which it is as long as it is what it is?

Leave a Reply

