wedding of a family member

wedding of a family member

the back of the family wedding photo.

the back of the family wedding photo.

My birthday is an hour away ,which is April 10, and because I have more years behind me then I have ahead of me,I will focus on the past for awhile, by showing historical family photos. When my mother died,she was the age I will become tomorrow and when she died I became the custodian of the family photos that were in her possession. The family photos she had and I got were in a shoe box and are photos of her relatives on her father’s side and her mother’s side. Many of the photos are from the late 1800s and early 1900s. They are interesting to me, because of the costumes and because I like to think of the story held in these photos. Many of these relatives I never met and many I don’t know how I am related to them. So if you are interested come with me to a journey into the past.
The people in the photo,which I know because my mother wrote their names on the back of the photo,are from the left; Clara Meller,Aunt Liilian,Uncle Joe & Uncle Oskar. Joe and Oskar are my grandfather,John Kestler, brothers. My grandfather John died ten years before I was born and I don’t remember his brothers Joe and Oskar. I do remember his brother Ed and he lived to be 102 years old.

detail of wedding photo.

detail of wedding photo.

 

Leave a Reply

