Rasmus Theodore Dyess

Rasmus Theodore Dyess

This photo and his year of birth and year of death is all I know of my grandfather Rasmus Theodore Dyess. He was my father’s father and lived in Covington, Louisiana. He was born in 1853 and died in 1929. My father was born in 1910 so my grandfather was fifty seven then. My father was the youngest of ten children and had one brother William P. Dyess.My best guess is that the above photo was taken in the 1880’s.

Grandmother Virginia Wilkins Dyess

Grandmother Virginia Wilkins Dyess 1944

This is one of two photos I have seen of my grandmother Virginia Wilkins Dyess,wife of Theodore Dyess.

Grandmother Dyess 1947

Grandmother Dyess 1947

This photo was taken,probably by my father in 1947,which was the only time I met my grandmother Dyess. My family drove to Louisiana in our 1936 Chevrolet. That’s my mother in the background.

detail from a photo of my Grandmother Dyess

detail from a photo of my Grandmother Dyess

grandmother Dyess home in Louisiana

grandmother Dyess home in Louisiana

funeral of my grandmother Dyess

funeral of my grandmother Dyess

This is the funeral of my grandmother Dyess, I believe in 1948. I remember my father crying when he got the call that his mother had died. He couldn’t drive to Louisiana for the funeral,so his relatives sent him black and white photos of the funeral. We were living in the basement of my aunt and uncle Foster at this time. There was a lack of housing and to buy a house you had to put a third down. I’m hoping some of my relatives will see this post and fill in more details about my grandmother and grandfather Dyess.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

