Creating illustrations to sell stuff

Posted: April 28, 2013 in art,John_Dyess
Tags: , , , , ,

stuff  informal. Household or personal articles collectively ; belongings. Worthless objects; refuse or junk. Foolish or empty words or ideas.  The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language

During my career as an illustrator I created illustrations to sell stuff. For a period of eleven years, during my fifty year career as a professional illustrator, I worked at Maritz Motivation Company helping sell stuff to corporations. Maritz created incentive programs for Corporations that motivated sales people to sell more stuff, by awarding them merchandise and or trips to  exotic locations. So Maritz was selling stuff to corporations so that they could sell more stuff to consumers.
I worked at Maritz from 1969 until 1980. I enjoyed my time at Maritz and was paid to have fun creating illustrations.
On May 14, 2013 I will be speaking at the Illustration Section of the St. louis Artists’ Guild, sharing my art and experience,while working at Maritz.
I have shared my experience, while working at Maritz, many times on this blog and will be presenting this week, more of my illustrations created while working there.

stuff from Maritz Award catalog during the 1970's

stuff from Maritz Award catalog during the 1970’s

Comments
  1. Glenn Myers says:

    John, I still have a Coleman ice chest I “earned” during a promotion in house at Communico. That was the equivalent of the slums at Maritz if you recall. HA HA, not really . . . we were lesser on the totom pole but we were pretty good also. Looking forward to your presentation at Illustrators.

Leave a Reply

