Detail of the finished painting of Sophia

Detail of the finished painting of Sophia

Finished painting of Sophia

Finished painting of Sophia

My oil portrait of grand daughter Sophia was finished in May of 2013 after almost a year. Total time I worked on this painting was not a year because I set it aside for many months. This is not a usual thing for me to take so long a time to work on a portrait.
I teach part time at Meramec Community College and have access to art books in the campus library and because I teach I can keep a book all semester- and I kept a book on the art of Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres for almost the entire semester. I studied reproductions of his paintings in this book and scanned the painting below which became an inspiration while painting Sophia’s portrait.

Inges portrait of Louise d. Haussonville

Inges portrait of Louise d. Haussonville

detail of Ingres portrait

detail of Ingres portrait

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    That was really fun going through the steps. I especially appreciated that you didn’t like something along the way and remedied it. It is fascinating seeing the process. Thanks.

  2. Glenn Myers says:

    Ingres or Dyess . . . no matter . . . both masters!

Leave a Reply

