painting by marlene Lewis

painting by marlene Lewis

There is an opening of the paintings of Marlene Lewis from 4:30 until 6:30 at Webster Groves Christian Church on
September 22, 2013. Refreshments will be served and all are welcome.
Below is a statement about her art by Marlene.

My painting style is based on what I love and find endlessly fascinating – light, color, movement, and the unconscious feelings they arouse in me.  The inspiration for my art comes from so many places, beginning with my childhood memories of Miami, Florida, where I grew up.  It was a place of sensuality, tropical colors, and people of different nationalities and cultures – a place of vibrant, beautifully adorned Latino women and those around them.  I try to recreate in my paintings the feelings that these experiences aroused in me – the joy of being alive and of being able to experience the intensity of energy all around me.  

For the last several years, I have been commissioned to paint hundreds of hearts for organ donation organizations.  These hearts have come to symbolize hope for those awaiting organ transplants.  They have also been given to families who have lost loved ones and have given the gift of life through organ donation.  Last year, one hundred hearts were given to those individuals on the Donate Life float in the Rose Bowl.  And in April, eighty hearts were presented to the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles to foster conversation and discussion of organ donation.  I was honored to be asked to do these paintings.

Painting these hearts has had an extraordinary effect on my other painting, as well.  They are a constant reminder of both the strength and fragility of life.  They remind me of the importance of spontaneity in life, that life is really what we make it.  Sometimes, the most beautiful hearts are made by simple mistakes that turn out not to be mistakes at all.  All it takes is daring to try something new.  

Marlene Lewis

Leave a Reply

