Peter Gunn album cover 1956

Peter Gunn album cover 1956

My father was a radio engineer during the 1940’s,50’s and 60’s. Most of his career he worked for WTMV and when the call letters were changed WAMV. Before KMOX broadcast the Baseball Cardinals WTMV was the station that carried the games. Many African American DJs got their start ,in the St. Louis area, at WTMV during the 1940’s and 1950’s. My father brought home many discarded records while he worked at WTMV and I still have some of these.
My wife Carolyn was reading a magazine,  “American Lifestyle”, tonight, that contained an article titled “Vinyl Fever” which spoke of the resurgence of records. After I read they article I went to a closet,  and and looked at the covers of albums from the fifties and sixties, some of which I bought, and most of them brought home by my father.I am going to scan some of these and put on blog posts, which comes under there category  “Things I have seen”. I am selecting covers that will show some of the history of graphic design and illustration.

Dave Pell Octet album cover

Dave Pell Octet album cover

This cover my father brought home.

The Big Country Album cover

The Big Country Album cover

I saw the movie “Big Country” with several army buddies , at a theater in Manhattan,Kansas,during a brief tour at Ft. Riley,Kansas. We were all six month’ers in 1961.Six months active duty and six and a half years in the Army reserves. I liked the music from this movie and bought this album in 1962. More albums covers soon.

Leave a Reply

