The shape of things in the 1960’s – automobiles page 2

Posted: June 5, 2014 in art,John_Dyess
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
1968 Corvette

1968 Corvette

I watch the television show Madmen, which takes place during the 1960′s, and also I recently watched a show about the 1960′s on CNN; which is why I chose to start a series of blog posts called the shape of things in the 1960′s. I was beginning my career as an illustrator during the 1960′s and during this period I started collecting magazine clippings of images, that I cut out from magazines, to use as reference for my illustrations to supplement photographs I took for reference. I am beginning to throw away, from my *Morque, many of these clippings.
* Morque – informal in a newspaper office, a collection of old cuttings, photographs,and information.
I found a file that contained brochures and magazine clippings of  advertisements for 1968 and 1969 automobiles and I will scan them to use in my blog posts.During this time period all the photographs and illustrations of autos focused on the grill. I cropped the scans to show what shapes I found interesting in the design of these autos.I also will add some of the messages from these auto advertisements.
This was how the Corvette was described in Look magazine’s 1968 automotive preview. “-low-volume Chevy sportster,will spin eyeballs of the supermarket set as well as the buff brigade-”

1968 Ford LTD 2-Door Hardtop

1968 Ford LTD 2-Door Hardtop

Here is a tag line in a 1968 Ford brochure.1968 Ford. Quiet. Strong. Beautiful. A great road car. The emphasis of the photo and illustration depictions of all brand of 1968 autos is on the,the length and width of the models and the horse-power.

1968 Pontiac Brougham

1968 Pontiac Brougham

This is a section of an illustration created by two illustrators that used the initials  VK AF. They created a lot of auto with environment illustrations, during this time period for Pontiac. Their illustrations were more interesting ,to me, than photographs.

1968 Ford Station wagon

1968 Ford Station wagon

I had to include a profile of a station wagon because that was the minivan of the 1960’s. This photograph looks like it was photoshopped, except this was years before photoshop existed. It seems at this time, longer and wider was important. Size mattered.
Many 1968 autos were not included in my past two blogs on the Shape of things in the 1960-automobiles. I just scanned and posted advertisements that were in my morgue folder of 1968 automobiles.

 

Leave a Reply

