Sorting through my painting and drawings – page one

Posted: August 24, 2014 in sorting through my paintings and drawings
Tags: , , , ,
painting of a model dressed as a mountain man

painting of a model dressed as a mountain man,1970’s

Yesterday I began sorting through a storage closet containing some of my drawings ,paintings and illustrations,some created forty years ago,and began eliminating some by putting them in a recycling bin. Some I scanned before recycling. This model study painted in pencil and acrylic I kept.

African American model

African American model

This portrait study,created in the late 1970’s in less the two hours,including model breaks, was painted in oil wash using turpentine on canvas board. This was a technique used by some illustrators,including myself,during this time period. My work became much tighter in the late eighties. I kept this one just as an example of my painting style in the 1970’s

layout for a merchandise catalog speed created for Maritz Motivation Company in the 1970's

layout for a merchandise catalog spread created for Maritz Motivation Company in the 1970’s

This was a layout for a proposed catalog section which would feature music and  sound products like record players. This was drawn with graphite  pencil on illustration board using gesso and Dr. Martin’s dyes. I kept a scan and recycled the painting. More from my closet of historical paintings and drawings during the next week.

Comments
  1. Chuck says:

    Beautiful work, as always, John!

Leave a Reply

