Virginia Foster Huhn,Adele Dyess, Jan Foster Huhn

Virginia Foster Huhn, Adele Dyess, Jan Foster Bausback about 1947

I called my cousins Jan Foster Bausback and Virginia Foster Huhn today to wish them a Happy New Year and we talked about our past, while we all lived in Affton Missouri. I was going through digital folders on my desktop and found scans I had made from a photo album I had inherited from my mother. The above photo was taken around 1947 and in this photo,from left to right is my cousin Virginia Foster,my mother Adele Dyess and my cousin Jan Foster. My cousins would have been in high school at this time, and my mother would have been around thirty years old. I believe this would have been taken on a Sunday.

John Dyess and Ronald Dyess about 1947.

John Dyess and Ronald Dyess about 1947.

I also called my brother Ronald today to wish him a Happy New Year. I chose this photo from the scans of my family album because of the connection to the time period of the“A Christmas Story” which is a popular show for people to watch, at Christmas. I would have been about the same age as “Ralphie Parker when this photo was taken and was holding an air rifle that was given to me by my parents for a Christmas present. I’m sure my mother was worried that I would shoot my eye out. This photo would have been taken about seven years after the time period of  “A Christmas Story”.which took place about 1940.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Happy New Year, Uncle John! And thank you for sharing the family photos.

  2. johndyess says:

    Happy New Year,Debbie. Sorry you couldn’t make the Dyess Christmas. After talking with Jan and Ginny and Ron on News Year’s day,I thought this would be a good time to post photos from Grandma Dyess’s album.

Leave a Reply

