Arapaima monster River Fish

Arapaima monster River Fish

On January 1 2013 I received the email below from Patrick Truby, an art director at the National Geographic Museum in Washington D.C.

Hi John,

I hope this email finds you well, I am a designer for the national geographic museum and we are putting a Mega-fish exhibit together for 2014. We are looking for an illustrator to create illustrations of 15-20 species of fish. I will be sending out an rfp with more details, just wanted to check if this email is the best way to contact you and if you would be interested receiving the rfp and giving us a bid. Feel free to contact me as well to discuss.
I said yes to his email and sent samples of my fish illustrations and other illustrations created in a pen and ink and color. I created the illustration of the Arapaima monster river fish for the proposal. Below are some samples I sent.

Backwater Bass

Backwater Bass

Pike fish

Pike fish

black and white drawing of Pike Fish

black and white drawing of Pike Fish

North American Fisherman magazine illustration

North American Fisherman magazine illustration

Bassmaster magazine illustration

Bassmaster magazine illustration

Gallery painting of a Pineapple

Gallery painting of a Pineapple

These are of a few of the images I sent. I received this email on April 17,2013

Hey John,

I was actually going to get in touch with you today, We really love your work and think you would be perfect for Set A. The scope has changed somewhat to to a number of factors that are still ongoing. We are now estimating around 6 set A illustrations rather than 12. I assure you that we would love to get you started asap but we have to nail down our exhibit outline to the point where we feel confident letting you loose on a Monsterfish. Please let us know if you are still interested and feel free to call me with any questions. When you are on board we will get started on getting your contract started in draft form.

Best and congratulations.
P
Of course I said I was still interested and was to begin a two year journey to the opening of Monsterfish-In Search of the Last RiverGiants, this month on Thursday March 16, 2015.
More to follow on my blog

Leave a Reply

