Social change through art – Don Quixote and LiLi

Posted: July 25, 2015 in art, Don Quixote and Lila, John_Dyess
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Detail of painting of Don Quixote

Detail of painting of Don Quixote

The image above of Don Quixote is a photo I took of a painting while visiting The Don Quixote Iconographic Museum which is located in Quanajuato ,Mexico.
Lila, is a short film (9 minutes) directed by Carlos Lascano about a dreamer that can’t accept reality as ordinary as she perceives it, so she uses her imagination and her abilities to change it. Click on the name Lila to view this short movie. My friend Denise sent me the link to this wonderful movie,which I will show to my Illustration 1 and 2 students, at Meramec Community College in a few weeks when the Fall semester begins.
The author Leon Felipe described Quixote this way:  “His eyes and his conscience organize the world not as it is ,but rather how it should be.” Lila, in this sense ,is a quixote character.
I think artists can be like Don Quixote when they try,with their art,to express the hope for a just world,
even in the face of the reality of an unjust world.
I will begin, in my next blog post, showing images of Justice, created by students of my Drawing for Graphics 1 and 2, which I taught at Meramec Community College in the Spring of 2015.  John Dyess

Leave a Reply

