Welcome-to-Our-Neighborhood-painting

Painting titled Welcome to Our Neighborhood by John Dyess

This is one of a series of paintings that are based on photographs I took while visiting New York City in 2008 and 2010. The photograph reference for this painting was one of a series taken in 2008 while walking in Times Square with my wife and a friend. I have added a texture layer to the photo. I created the texture traditionally by painting on a piece of canvas. I scanned the texture background and placed it on a separate layer with the photograph.
I had the digital file printed on canvas wrap and then painted over it with oil paint.

detail-1

detail of painting

IMG_1566

detail of painting

 

Leave a Reply

