Observing and recording reflections and refractions

Posted: February 19, 2017 in art,John_Dyess
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
crown-of-light

“crown of light ” light photograph by John Foster Dyess

My photograph “crown of Light ” was taken with my first digital camera, about twelve years ago. The camera was a Minolta Dimage S414 and was 4 mega pixels.
Taking photographs with a digital camera gave me the freedom to record images I would  not have taken, because of the cost of developing prints from film. This also changed the way I looked at the visual world around me. This was one of the first photos I took of a caustic light.  I saw this image on the living room floor and it came from the brass frame around a fireplace door. After recording this image I began to observe and record light. Not the way light falls on objects,which I have painted many times but light as an object.
I think of these photographs as light poetry.
I have also called this photograph “crown of thorns”.
John Foster Dyess

Leave a Reply

